Distrocheck

Windows SEVENNNNNN

Posted in Windows by jwilliams on June 27, 2010

So i’ve been using Windows 7 for a couple of months now, I was forced to do so for certain software. I have developed a wow/crap relationship with it.

The thing is elegant. From the flawless boot sequence to the loading of a user session. It is decently elegant all through the system. It boots and logs in pretty fast on a 2.53 dual core and 4gb ram plus It is responsive and stable.

I like the dock, especially with big icons.¬† Consistency on the notification area is achieved. I appreciate that they made the show desktop button that way, it’s exactly how I would have done it. The contextual menu and the progress bar on dock items is an opening to new functionality that was not exploited before. This will probably kill the notification area pests.

Although I find myself opening the main menu quite often I think it’s because I’m kinda forced due to the bad usability design. I don’t like the main menu concept at all, although this one is quite a decent one it’s still crap. I don’t know why having the most recent applications when you have a dock, the point of most recent applications is to have a list showing applications that are the most relevant to you, and that’s exactly what the dock does. The dark menu on the right is a non configurable waste of space, there should be an option called “Disable retarded links”. Windows fails at listing available applications, showing folders just doesn’t feel right. I like the search bar, first because it’s of quick access, just pressing the windows key, it delivers good results and opens the first application in the list by pressing enter. Unfortunately it is bloated. I like the arrows showing recent documents processed by an application. I think the shutdown button is well placed but there’s something odd about it.

I like snipping tool, im not amazed that is has it though, I expect something similar from any desktop environment that hints to be friendly.

I feel naked when on Windows I had to look for links that weren’t dead to get my software, basic software like a rar extractor, pdf reader, a decent media player¬† and browser. I didn’t install MS Office, I rather use Google Docs or OpenOffice if I had to. Even though I tried hard not to I ended up giving up to the Adobe patch. Hunting software gets old fast. Installing software in Windows is not friendly, every install requires the user to go usually through a step process making him take trivial decisions like installing icons mixed with options that if not disabled installs unwanted software into the system. Repository based systems definitely excel in this area.

Something that sucks is the obligation to mess with compatibility settings when running certain software. They made this horrible compatibility mess and they want the users to cover it by making them do random compatibility variations hoping one of them works.

Their file explorer is quite decent, unfortunately it’s not flexible at all and it just never feels proper.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on June 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    You can configure the Start Menu. Right-click on the start icon and select Properties.

  2. Sanders said, on June 28, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I hate the dock, most of it though. I hate docks in general, give me menus I can configure anytime.

    Windows 7 in general wastes screen space for no good reason most of the time.

    Only good thing about windows is the software it allows to run (Photoshop/Autocad/etc.)

    Win7 Enterprise uses 12-16gb of HD space once installed why? That is absolutely crazy.

    There are dozens of ways to run old software, as you mentioned it is a mess, one never knows for sure what is most appropriate. The system sometimes complains about problems that doesn’t exist when installing software, when an app fails because it is not compatible, there is no hint as to why it might not work.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

